“Equality”

Until the 1900s, Women were treated unequally, but due to the work of many heroes of civil rights, today women have better opportunities. However, some people say that gender inequality still exists today. Yes, I believe that inequality exists, but I don’t believe that what we are doing right now is solving it.

Back when I was in the 6th Grade of Middle School, there was a special coding class for programming that seemed to be a lot of fun. Guess what, it was for girls only (and I was a boy). Yes, that’s right. Hypocritical, isn’t it. Girls only, in a supposed equal nation sexually.

I want these opportunities to be guarded by only my ability, not my race, gender, or my person in general otherwise. This means, instead of having these girls only opportunities give out to make equality, I want these opportunities to be given out equally, so the real judgement depends on their abilities.

When Martin Luther King Jr. made his rousing “I Have A Dream” speech, he said these words:

“I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character.”

Notice, he particularly emphasized that pure equality was not practical, as he said that everybody should be judged by their content of their character, not by their skin color. This means the same for gender as it does for race. This particular class I am talking about is judging people by their gender, even if it has the intention of making equality. In other words, they are making inequality by trying to be equal. The real solution of equality is to try to give the same opportunities for everyone. We should strive to give everybody the same opportunity rather than give one gender, race, or otherwise an advantage over another.

Leave a Reply

